Business Overview

In 2021, China Unicom upgraded its strategy to “Strengthen and solidify, preserve and innovate, integrate and open”. The Company actively served national strategies and integrated into the new development pattern, with firm progress towards high-quality development. It leveraged its IT centralisation advantages to advance digital transformation and service model innovation in full force. The Company strengthened integrated operation led by 5G services to enhance user acquisition capability.

MOBILE SERVICE

With the objectives of value first, experience first, and breakthrough in scale, China Unicom made every effort to implement 5G-led integration and cohort-based development, leading quality and scale development with 5G. The Company promoted the development of new 5G users and make breakthroughs in 5G scenarios in key markets and segmented groups. It promoted 5G upgrade of existing users through implementing refined customer segmentation and offering fit and suitable products based on precise Big Data analytics and deep insight from various scenarios. It innovated on multi-metric 5G products to ensure the competitiveness of contracts and products and full 5G package coverage of all customers, strengthening the contract-based and integrated development of 5G users. It improved pricing and contract flexibility to strengthen the differentiation of 5G core applications. It also promoted the innovative development of 5G terminals and pan-terminal industries so as to promote 5G terminal-network-business synergy.

The Company deepened the comprehensive digital transformation and improved its digital marketing service capabilities. With the transformation into the “platform + network + X” product model, it strengthened the overall management of all products as well as its integrated development and operation capabilities. It successfully launched platforms such as China Unicom Digital Village, China Unicom Smart Home and China Unicom Cloud Rhino for the 2C, 2H and 2B2C markets.

The Company accelerated the enhancement of terminal digital operation and supply chain ecosystem. It opened up the terminal operation system, ensured the stability of terminal supply and upgraded its capability in digital supply chain. Consumer financing instruments were widely employed, with more than 100,000 stores providing such financing services.

As of the end of 2021, the Company had approximately 317.12 million mobile billing subscribers, representing a cumulative net increase of 11.30 million subscribers for the year. The number of 5G package subscribers reached 154.93 million, representing a cumulative net increase of 84.10 million subscribers for the year.

FIXED-LINE SERVICE

In 2021, China Unicom adhered to the comprehensive coordination of “terminal + network + business + operation + service + information” in the development of fixed-line service. Led by “Three-Gigabit”, the Company established a market-driven mechanism integrating terminal, network, business and service, thereby comprehensively improving its broadband access and resource management capabilities and achieving the coordinated development of broadband sales and network deployment. The Company accelerated the construction of gigabit networks and strengthened broadband capabilities in Southern China. Focusing on high-value regions, it pushed forward the deployment and upgrade of gigabit communities. It continued to carry out broadband speed measurement and upgrade activities and revitalise resources, comprehensively improving the efficiency of network resources. Leveraging on branding advantage associated with the Winter Olympics, the Company strengthened the development of gigabit broadband, laying a foundation for achieving total leadership in Northern China and targeted overtaking in Southern China. With the optimisation of the entire broadband process chain, the Company built a digital operation system of “two networks and one middle platform” for home users, thereby optimising resource allocation and promoting highly-efficient governance. The Company incorporated fixed-line local access into family packages to revitalise fixed-line local access resources, and launched innovative applications such as fixed-line video ringtones and business caller ID. In 2021, fixed-line broadband access revenue reached RMB44.8 billion, representing a year-on-year growth of 5.2%. During the year, the number of broadband subscribers increased by 8.95 million to 95.05 million and the broadband access ARPU was RMB41.3. FTTH subscribers’ penetration reached 88%.

INDUSTRY INTERNET

In cloud computing, as the foundation of digital transformation and integrated innovation, Unicom Cloud provided customers with integrated and innovative solutions including cloud resources, cloud platforms, cloud services, cloud integration, cloud interconnection, cloud security, etc. Computing efficiency was enhanced through the unified technical architecture and the unified PaaS platform. The Company made comprehensive deployment in Big Computing with totally revamped Unicom Cloud featuring upgraded technology, products, services and ecosystem. Open architecture, dual-engine base and multi-scenario deployment were all supported. PaaS products such as Big Data, IoT, AI, blockchain and security were deeply integrated with IaaS products. Basic product offerings continued to be enriched while product performance was significantly enhanced. The Company launched seven scenario-based cloud products to drive the digital transformation of thousands of industries. In 2021, the revenue of Unicom Cloud amounted to RMB16.3 billion.

In Big Data, the Company upgraded its capabilities in data application services, data technology services, data security services, AI and blockchain services. Focusing on industries such as government affairs, finance, cultural and tourism and transportation, etc., it optimised product offerings in government affairs Big Data, financial Big Data, cultural and tourism Big Data, industrial AI products and “industry + blockchain”. The Company also continuously supported pandemic prevention and control and resumption of work and production. Eight blockchain pilot projects were successfully selected as national blockchain innovation application pilot projects. In 2021, Big Data revenue reached RMB2.6 billion, representing a year-on-year growth of 48.7% with a market share ranking first among telecom operators for the third consecutive year.

In terms of the Internet of Things (“IoT”), the Company accelerated the promotion of a new pattern of IoT connectivity led by 5G. The number of connections reached over 300 million. The Company accelerated platform-based independent innovation. The Yanfei Zhilian connection management platform (CMP) carried over 160 million connections, becoming the main carrying platform. The Yanfei Gewu device management platform (DMP) has connected near a million of devices, over 200 object models and over 180 Open APIs since its commercial launch in April 2021, making it the central platform underlying China Unicom’s transition to integrated IoT “connectivity + non-connectivity” applications. The Company released the first low-cost lightweight Yanfei 5G module in China and cooperated with UNISOC to complete the world’s first R16-based eMBB + uRLLC + IIoT end-to-end verification, actively promoting the innovative development of the 5G IoT industry. In 2021, China Unicom’s IoT revenue reached RMB6.0 billion, representing a year-on-year growth of 43%.

In IT services, the Company strengthened internal innovation and achieved platform-based product capabilities, standardisation of self-developed products and R&D centralisation. It promoted the scale development of 5G applications to enhance gross margins. In Big Application, it developed over 200 proprietary application products, including signature products such as smart city base, central management console, industrial Internet platform, government affair Big Data platform, smart river chief, etc. in the fields of smart city, industrial Internet, digital government, environment, etc. The Company implemented over 8,000 industry application projects with proprietary capabilities, driving RMB6.0 billion in industry application revenue. It has formed differentiated competitive advantages comprising proprietary capabilities, self-developed products, proprietary integration and fulfilment and continuous operating services, fully empowering customers’ digital transformation.

NETWORK CAPABILITIES

In 2021, the Company conscientiously implemented the strategic deployment of “Cyber Superpower” and “New Infrastructure”. In order to build a differentiated network competitive advantage through digital transformation, the Company deepened network co-build co-share in the industry, strengthened network-business collaboration and service support, and continued to improve network competitiveness. It took multiple measures to effectively alleviate the investment cost pressure brought by the large-scale 5G network construction and rapid business development. It deepened the digital, network-based and intelligent reform of the operation system and pushed forward the network digital transformation.

As at the end of 2021, the number of 5G base stations used reached 690,000. The number of 4G base stations reached 1.56 million with 4G population coverage reaching 95% and administrative village coverage reaching 91%. In the fixed-line network, the Company continued to expand network coverage in new regions and stepped up the network upgrade in areas with PON+LAN. The total number of broadband access ports reached 239 million, of which FTTH ports accounted for 91%. The Company continued to optimise its international network deployment. As at the end of 2021, the international submarine cable capacity, international Internet outbound capacity and inbound bandwidth reached 57.8T, 5.31T and 3.93T, respectively. The Company’s international roaming services covered 627 operators in 260 countries and regions.

MARKETING

Branding

In 2021, focusing on digital transformation, the Company’s brand promotion was conducted around intelligence, guided by 5G and endorsed by the Winter Olympics, with a view to continuously advocating the creation of smart experience and building a smart brand with warmth. The promotion emphasised on key business advantages such as 5G, three-gigabit offerings, innovative applications, industry applications, gigabit network and high-quality services, etc. and was targeted towards on sub-markets and key industries such as households, rural villages, youth and government and corporate customers, etc. The Company’s promotion took advantage of trending events and key festivals, while closely integrating the differentiated advantages of the Winter Olympics with branding and 5G to strengthen the Company’s identity as a Winter Olympics partner and demonstrate the brand’s strength. In terms of publicity, the Company continuously innovated on the means and forms of promotion, created a three-dimensional communication matrix to effectively convey a good corporate story. It continuously optimised its publicity content and diversified communication means, leading to greater user attention and improved brand value. The overall brand building was on a good momentum with improvement in both reputation and awareness.

Marketing strategies

In line with the trend of rural digital consumption upgrade, the Company implemented “Rural Revitalisation” strategy and continued to leverage 5G to upgrade rural market products and services such as Smart Home, Safe Villages and Digital Villages. In the youth market, targeting multimedia entertainment segments, the Company carried out cooperation with leading touchpoints to achieve scale development, grasped the back-to-school opportunities to carry out frontend-loaded marketing such as college broadband, college informatisation, 5G private network and K12 smart campus, etc.

The Company implemented programmes to “promote handset upgrade” and “promote network access”, driving the coordinated development of 5G terminal, network, business and service. With schemes like “terminal-business alignment” and “network-business alignment”, the Company continued to strengthen the alignment of broadband terminals, networks and businesses and improve the capability of gigabit network and user perception.

The Company consolidated its fundamental capabilities in existing business operation through integration, value enhancement, loss control and downgrade control, stabilising the scales of both existing revenue and subscribers and driving steady growth of service revenue.

Marketing Channels

In 2021, the Company built a “platform-based, digital, smart and ecology-oriented” customer-centric marketing model based on new OMO channels. First, the Company accelerated the comprehensive transformation of offline channels towards targeted markets, kept close to targeted markets, optimised deployment, and comprehensively improved the coverage across communities and towns. It strengthened the construction of the “1 + N + n” business alliance and actively built a new ecosystem of offline channels. Second, it accelerated the improvement of centralised online operation capabilities to tap into potential traffic, sped up the upgrade of 2I2C products and marketing models, stabilised cooperation with leading companies, and actively expanded local innovative lead generation. It accelerated the differentiation of China Unicom APP, expanded user connections, and enhanced user activity, building an ecological cooperation platform. Third, the Company accelerated the online and offline integration, unified the public platform and business operation platform and connected the whole process and production scheduling. It deepened the construction of digital business outlets to expand mutual lead generation and improve channel capabilities.

業務概覽

2021年,中國聯通以「強基固本、守正創新、融合開放」的戰略升級,積極主動服務國家戰略和融入新發展格局,堅定推動高質量發展,持續發揮IT集約化優勢,大力推進數字化轉型和服務模式創新,以5G業務為引領,強化融合經營,提升用戶發展。

移動業務

中國聯通堅持價值為先、體驗領先、規模突破,全力實施5G引領融合化、群組化發展,以5G引領質效規模發展。推進新用戶發展即5G,重點市場和細分人群5G場景化突破;推進存量用戶5G化,基於大數據精確分析和場景化深刻洞察,對客戶精細切片、精準施策;推進5G多量綱產品創新,確保資費合約與產品競爭力,推進5G套餐對全量客戶全覆蓋,加強5G用戶合約化、融合化發展;增強資費與合約靈活度,加強5G核心應用打造差異化;推動5G終端、泛終端產業創新發展;推進5G端網業服協同。

公司深化推進全面數字化轉型,提升數字化營銷服務能力,推進「平台+網+X」產品模式轉型,加強全產品統籌管理與一體化開發運營能力,面向2C、2H、2B2C市場,成功推出了聯通數村、聯通智家、聯通雲犀等平台。

終端數字化運營和供應鏈生態加速健全,公司持續開放了終端運營體系,保障了終端供應穩定,升級了數字化供應鏈能力;消費金融工具賦能廣泛深入,金融受理門店數超過10萬家。

截至2021年底,本公司擁有移動出賬用戶約31,712萬戶,年累計淨增1,130萬戶;5G套餐用戶累計到達15,493萬戶,年累計淨增8,410萬戶。

固網業務

2021年,中國聯通在固網業務發展方面,堅持「端網業營服信」全面協同,堅持「三千兆」為引領,建立了以市場為牽引的端網業服協同聯動機制,全面提升寬帶資源接入能力和資源管理能力,實現寬帶營銷與資源能力協同發展。推進千兆網絡建設,強化南方寬帶能力建設,聚焦高價值區域,加快千兆小區建設改造,持續開展寬帶測速提速活動,盤活資源,全面提高網絡資源效益。依託冬奧品牌優勢,全面強化千兆寬帶發展,為實現北方全面領先、南方定點超越的經營目標奠定基礎。以寬帶流程全鏈條優化為抓手,構建家庭用戶「兩網一中台」數字化運營體系,優化資源配置,推進高效能治理。將固話納入家庭套餐,盤活固話碼號資源,推出固話視頻彩鈴、企業名片等創新應用。2021年寬帶收入完成人民幣448億元,同比增長5.2%。全年寬帶用戶淨增895萬戶,達到9,505萬戶,寬帶用戶接入ARPU為人民幣41.3元;FTTH用戶佔比達到88%。

產業互聯網

雲計算方面,聯通雲作為數字化轉型和融合創新的底座,為客戶提供包括雲資源、雲平台、雲服務、雲集成、雲互聯、雲安全等一體化融合創新解決方案。通過統一技術架構、統一PaaS平台提升算力算效,全面佈局大計算,通過技術升級、產品升級、服務升級、生態升級全面升級聯通雲。支持架構開放、雙引擎基座和多場景部署,大物智鏈安等PaaS產品與IaaS產品深度融合,基礎產品品類不斷豐富,基礎產品性能大幅提升,推出7大場景雲產品,助力千行百業數字化轉型。2021年聯通雲收入人民幣163億元。

大數據方面,升級數據應用服務、數據技術服務、數據安全服務、AI、區塊鏈服務能力,聚焦政務、金融、文旅、交通等行業,優化政務大數據、金融大數據、文旅大數據、行業AI產品及「行業+區塊鏈」產品體系;持續服務疫情防控與復工復產;支撐8項區塊鏈試點成功入選國家區塊鏈創新應用試點。2021年大數據收入達人民幣26億元,同比增長48.7%,市場份額連續三年保持電信運營商首位。

物聯網方面,以5G為引領加快推動物聯網大聯接新格局,物聯網連接數超過3億個。加快以平台為核心的自主創新引領,雁飛智連平台(CMP)承載連接數突破1.6億個,成為連接業務的主力承載平台。雁飛格物平台(DMP)自2021年4月商用以來快速接入近百萬個設備數,逾200個物模型、逾180個Open API,成為聯通物聯網向「連接+非連接」融合應用轉型的樞紐級平台。發佈國內首款低成本的輕量化雁飛5G模組,聯合展銳完成全球首個基於R16的eMBB+uRLLC+IIoT端到端驗證,積極推動5G IoT產業創新發展。2021年聯通物聯網收入人民幣60億元,同比增長43%。

IT服務方面,強化自主創新,實現產品能力平台化、自主產品標準化、產品研發集約化,提升5G應用規模化推廣能力,提高項目毛利率。目前大應用中,自研應用產品超200款,在智慧城市、工業互聯網、數字政府、生態環境等領域打造了智慧城市基座、一網統管、工業互聯網平台、政務大數據平台、智慧河湖長等一批明星產品,以自研為核心實施8,000多個行業應用專案,拉動行業應用收入人民幣60億元,形成了以自主能力、自研產品、自主集成交付、持續運營服務集一體的差異化競爭優勢,全面服務客戶數字化轉型。

網絡能力

2021年公司認真落實「網絡強國」、「新基建」戰略部署,圍繞以數字化轉型打造網絡差異化競爭優勢為目標,深化推進行業共建共享,網業協同、強化服務支撐,持續提升網絡競爭力,多措並舉有效緩解5G大規模建設、業務較快發展帶來的資源投入壓力,深化運營體系變革,堅持數字化、網絡化、智能化方向,推進網絡數字化轉型。

截至2021年底,可用5G基站達到69萬站。4G基站達到156萬站,4G人口覆蓋率達到95%,4G行政村覆蓋率達到91%。固定網絡方面繼續擴大新增區域網絡覆蓋和PON+LAN區域網絡改造,寬帶端口總數達到2.39億個,其中FTTH端口佔比91%。公司持續完善國際網絡佈局。2021年底,國際海纜資源容量達到57.8T。互聯網國際出口容量5.31T,回國帶寬3.93T。國際漫遊覆蓋達到260個國家和地區的627家運營商。

市場營銷

品牌策略

2021年,圍繞數字化轉型,品牌宣傳以智慧為內核,以5G為引領、以冬奧為背書,持續倡導打造智慧的體驗,致力於打造有溫度的智慧品牌。宣傳上重點聚焦5G、三千兆、創新應用、行業應用、千兆網絡、高品質服務等重點業務優勢,聚焦家庭、農村、青少年、政企客戶等細分市場及重點行業,結合熱點和事件、關鍵節點等進行借勢和造勢宣傳,同時將冬奧差異化優勢與品牌及5G緊密結合,強化冬奧合作夥伴身份,彰顯品牌實力。在傳播上通過不斷創新宣傳手段和形式,打造立體化傳播矩陣,用小切口講好大故事,不斷優化宣傳內容及多樣化傳播手段,強化用戶關注,提升品牌價值。品牌整體發展態勢良好,美譽度和知曉度雙提升。

營銷策略

農村市場順應農村數字消費升級趨勢,貫徹「鄉村振興」戰略,以5G為引領,持續升級智慧家庭、平安鄉村和數字鄉村產品服務;青少年市場面對泛娛樂群體,與頭部觸點開展合作引流工作實現規模發展,緊抓秋開發展時間,前置營銷模式,做好高校寬帶、高校信息化、5G專網和K12智慧校園等項目。

落實「促換機」、「促登網」等計劃,推進5G端網業服協同發展;開展「端業匹配」、「網業匹配」等計劃,持續強化寬帶終端、網絡、業務匹配,提升千兆網絡能力及用戶感知。

夯實存量經營固本強基作用,提融合、提價值、控流失、控降套,實現了存量收入規模和用戶規模的雙穩盤,存量經營持續拉動主營收入穩步增長。

營銷渠道

2021年公司打造以客戶為中心的「一型三化」OMO新型渠道營銷服務體系。一是加快推進線下渠道向目標市場的全面轉型,貼近目標市場,優化佈局,雙優社區、鄉鎮覆蓋全面提升;強化「 1+N+n」商盟建設,積極構建線下渠道新生態。二是加快提升線上集約化運營能力拓展流量空間,2I2C產品和營銷模式升級提速,穩固頭部合作同時積極拓展本地創新引流;加速打造差異化中國聯通APP,做大用戶連接,提升用戶活躍,構建生態合作平台。三是加快推進線上線下一體化,統一公眾中台和業務運營平台,全流程打通和生產調度;深化數字化營業廳建設,擴大相互引流,提升渠道能力。