Network

Constructing Smart Premium Networks

In active implementation of the Cyber Superpower strategy, China Unicom earnestly engaged in network optimisation, evolution and speed upgrade, and built premium networks in a holistic manner to provide better services to its customers.

Creating the ultimate network experience

China Unicom is dedicated to building premium networks. It cares about user experience and seeks to provide customers with high-quality networks with broad coverage and high speed.

  • Staying ahead in terms of 4G network speed and offering lag-less experience in HD videos: In 2018, China Unicom made a total investment of RMB17.83 billion in 4G networks and had a total of 987,000 4G base stations in service covering 90% of the population. With the employment of technologies such as Big Data and AI, we precisely predicted network service volume and provided effective solutions to key customer complaints to ensure good user perception. According to the statistics of Broadband Development Alliance, China Unicom stayed ahead of its peers with a 4G download speed of 23.57Mbps in 2018.

  • Speed upgrade for home broadband for 7 years in a row: In 2018, China Unicom made a total investment of RMB9.16 billion in broadband and data networks. The total number of our broadband ports reached 215 million, of which FTTH ports account for 82.3%. The mainstream speed for home broadband increased to at least 200M, while ongoing improvements were made to the Smart WO Family Package with options available for family sizes ranging from 2 to 5. Customers can choose according to their needs, enjoying maximum value and convenience.

Advancing intelligent network evolution

While keeping up with its existing network development, China Unicom continued to explore future-proof intelligent network architecture and evolution strategy, and make its network more centralised, flexible and intelligent in the transition to an Internet-oriented network operation, providing customers with agile, self-service, online and personalised network services.

  • The construction of the next-generation CUBE-Net 2.0+ architecture has been expedited, with a view to gradually achieving network cloudification, automation and intelligentisation based on SDN/NFV, cloud, ultra-broadband, AI technologies, among others.

  • Through the integration of end-to-end differentiated servicing ability for mobile networks, we accomplished integration with common APPs, with a daily average of more than 1 million successful service calls and nationwide coverage.

  • Major efforts were made to drive the cloudification and virtualisation of core networks to provide a foundation of cloudified networks for IoT and 5G development.

  • We strengthened proprietary research and development in network software, embraced open-source technologies, and promoted network decoupling and open-up in order to expedite network re-architecture with the help of an open technological ecology.

Construction of green networks

Applying green technologies

China Unicom adopts highly energy-efficient network development strategy to drive cost reduction and efficiency enhancement for telecommunication facilities at source.

In 2018, we continued to employ efficient power modules and smart dual-circulation air-conditioning and achieved a 2-5% improvement in power system efficiency, a 30% air-conditioning energy saving and electricity saving of 20.54 million kWh for newly built systems in the first year.

The self-developed loose coupling channel closed-end technology (China Unicom Cloud Shelter) has been adopted to facilitate closure of the cooling passage of traditional telecommunication equipment. Compared to traditional methodology, machine room pPUE (partial power utilisation efficiency) decreased from over 2.0 to 1.5, delivering ongoing energy conservation throughout the entire life cycle of equipment operation.

To promote green data centres, energy-efficient and environmentally friendly equipment such as large cooling capacity centrifugal chillers, variable frequency circulation pumps, column precision air-conditioning, high-frequency UPS and amorphous alloy transformer have been employed in combination with energy- saving technologies such as residual heat recycling, natural cooling, HVDC, distributed power generation, photovoltaic power generation (lighting system). Through adjustments to the cooling system parameters and optimising UPS operating mode, etc., we enhanced our energy utilisation efficiency with PUE reaching as low as 1.33.

  • Adjustments to the cooling system parameters: the temperature of water supply and recycling was raised from 7℃-12℃ to 10℃-15℃. Approximately 2-4% electricity could be saved for every 1℃ raised.

  • Natural cooling: the natural cooling mode was turned on according to weather conditions. The mode operated for approximately 3,600 hours annually and accounted for 41.1% of total cooling time in the year, contributing to a power saving of approximately 33.6%,

  • Optimising UPS operating mode: highly redundant UPS with low loading rates have been closed down to raise the average loading rate. Meanwhile 10% of the degradation of fully loaded UPS can be saved.

  • HVDC: compared to traditional UPS, fewer levels of variation can facilitate power saving of approximately 15%.

Capacity optimisation and upgrade

In deepening supply-side structural reform, China Unicom eliminated obsolete capacity and achieved network optimisation and upgrade as well as cost reduction and efficiency enhancement by stepping up 2/3G network streamlining, fixed-line business consolidation and decommissioning legacy equipment. In 2018, 500,000 square meters of equipment room area were vacated leading to close to 300 million kWh of power savings per year.

網絡

建設智慧精品網絡

中國聯通積極踐行網絡強國戰略,積極進行網絡優化演進、升級提速,全方位鍛造匠心網絡,努力為廣大用戶提供更加優質的服務。

打造網絡極致體驗

中國聯通着力鑄造匠心網絡,關注用戶體驗,為用戶提供覆蓋好、上網快的高品質網絡。

  • 4G網速率領先,高清視頻流暢體驗:2018年中國聯通4G網絡總投資178.3億元,累計開通4G基站98.7萬站,4G人口覆蓋率達到90%。利用大數據、人工智能等技術手段,精準預測網絡業務量,有效解決客戶熱點投訴,確保用戶感知。根據寬帶發展聯盟統計,2018年中國聯通4G下載速率23.57Mbps,達到行業領先。

  • 家用寬帶,連續七年提速:2018年中國聯通寬帶及數據網絡投資達到91.6億元,寬帶端口總量達到2.15億,其中FTTH端口佔82.3%。家庭寬帶主流速率提升至200M起,不斷改進智慧沃家全家福套餐,從兩口之家到五口之家,按需選擇,惠民便民。


推動網絡智能演進

在保持現有網絡發展的同時,中國聯通持續探索面向未來的智能網絡架構和演進策略,不斷提升網絡的集約化、彈性化和智能化水平,逐步實現網絡互聯網化運營,為用戶提供敏捷、自選、電商化、個性化的網絡服務體驗。

  • 加快構建新一代CUBE-Net 2.0+架構,基於SDN/NFV、雲、超寬帶和AI等技術逐步實現網絡的雲化、自動化和智能化。

  • 通過整合移網端到端差異化服務能力,實現與典型APP應用對接,產品日均成功調用次數大於100萬次,覆蓋全國所有省份。

  • 大力推進核心網的雲化和虛擬化,為物聯網和5G發展奠定雲化網絡基礎。

  • 加大網絡軟件的自主研發力度,擁抱開源技術,推動網絡解耦和開放,利用開放技術生態加快網絡重構步伐。


建設綠色網絡

應用綠色技術

中國聯通採用高效節能建設方案,從源頭上推進通信基礎設施降本增效。

2018年持續引入高效電源模塊和智能雙循環空調,電源系統效率提高2-5%,空調節能率達到30%,新建系統首年節電2054萬度。

採用自研松耦合通道封閉技術(聯通雲艙),實現傳統通信設備冷通道封閉,與傳統建設模式相比,機房pPUE(局部電源使用效率)從2.0以上降至1.5,實現設備運行全生命週期的持續節能。

推廣綠色數據中心建設理念,採用大製冷量離心式冷水機組、變頻循環泵、列間精密空調、高頻UPS、非晶合金變壓器等高能效環保設備,結合餘熱回收、自然冷卻、高壓直流、分佈式供電、光伏發電(照明系統)等節能技術,並通過調整製冷系統參數、優化UPS運行模式等運行策略,提高能源利用率,PUE最低可達1.33。

  • 調整製冷系統參數:將供回水溫度從7℃-12℃提高到10℃-15℃,每提升1℃,節電約2-4%。

  • 自然冷卻:根據氣候條件,開啟自然冷卻模式,年開啟時長約3,600小時,佔全年製冷時長的41.1%,節電約33.6%。

  • 優化UPS運行模式:關閉高冗餘度、低負載率UPS,提高單台負載率,同時可降低UPS滿負荷10%的自損。

  • 高壓直流:相比於傳統UPS,減少變化級數,可節電約15%。


產能優化升級

中國聯通深入推進供給側結構性改革,通過加快2/3G網絡精簡、固網業務整合與老舊設備退網工作,淘汰落後產能,實現網絡優化升級、降本增效。 2018年,騰退機房面積50萬平方米,節電近3億度╱年。