Technology

DEVELOPING FUTURISTIC TECHNOLOGIES

China Unicom proactively played its role as an innovation engine, intensified efforts to seek breakthrough in core information technologies, and made contributions to the building of a cyber superpower by virtue of its own innovation capability.

Propelling the evolution of 5G technology

In active response to the national 5G strategy, China Unicom devoted itself into research and development and trials of 5G technology, and took the lead in the completion of a number of 5G standards-based specifications and projects, which have greatly advanced the progress of 5G development. It was the first operator to complete the Non-Standalone (NSA) trials in China, and initiated the new Standalone (SA) network trials in 11 pilot cities. Further, it completed the in-field and out-field trials of 5G carrier network and drove the decoupling of 5G carrier network equipment from different manufacturers.

Taking a cloud business-driven approach

Focusing on a cloud business-driven approach, China Unicom formulated the overall development strategy of cloud business featuring cloud and network integration, security and reliability, multi-cloud collaboration and service customisation. Underpinned by the cloud business, the Company established a new integrated product system through enhancing the full-stack component capacity of Heavenly Palace and Smart Enterprise platforms and integrating intelligent network, IoT, big data, industrial Internet applications and other products, thereby providing complete solutions for vertical industries. In 2019, the resources on our cloud platform included 267,000 virtual central processing units (vCPUs), 876.2T memory and 26.4PB of storage capacity, and the percentage of cloudified resource pool increased to 62.3%.

Enriching cloud products and services

  • In terms of public cloud, China Unicom persistently expanded the supply capacity of “WO Cloud” products and cooperated with the partners to provide customers with integrated cloud computing services under the “WO Cloud” brand. Currently, more than 250 basic and application products have been rolled out on “WO Cloud” public cloud, 45 application products are provided on WO Cloud market and 116 functions have been launched on “WO Cloud” public cloud platform.

  • In terms of private cloud, continuous efforts were devoted to build safe and reliable cloud platform and cloud products, including 312 functional points under four major categories. China Unicom succeeded in proprietary research and development of core technologies, and obtained more than 100 software copyright certificates.

  • In terms of industry cloud, China Unicom continued to explore and practise in key industries, and provide customers with professional and high-quality industry cloud solutions and products by leveraging on the unique advantages of WO Cloud in cloud network integration as well as multi-cloud collaboration.

  • In terms of cloud-network integration, China Unicom vigorously advanced the construction and deployment of intelligent networks and built new networks integrating cloud and network.

  • In terms of cloud integration service, China Unicom relied on the localised operation and service teams to strengthen self-implementation capability, improved the professional operation and service capabilities such as cloud integration, cloud migration and cloud security, and rendered customers one-stop services including consultation on cloudification planning, solution development, implementation of the integration, cloud migration and security defence.

  • In terms of the application of cloud platforms, the Heavenly Palace and Smart Enterprise platforms were rolled out in Guangdong, Sichuan, Shandong, Beijing, Jiangsu, Henan and other provinces, providing robust support to applications such as computing, transactions and big data.

Strengthening big data capabilities

China Unicom vigorously cemented its basic big data capabilities, carried through the national big data strategy and implemented the “Big Data Capability Enhancement Plan”. By virtue mainly of proprietary research and development, the Company constructed an open and shared, safe and controllable, and industry-leading big data capability system, in an effort to become a data intelligent service expert trusted by users, as well as a key player in building digital China.

  • Consolidating proprietary research and development capabilities: Through enhancing proprietary modelling capabilities, the Company is capable of PB-level technical data processing as well as real-time analysis and modelling for extremely large datasets. It has developed a matrix of industry models covering 10 industries such as finance and education.

  • Enhancing data asset integration capability: Processing more than 180T incremental data, 16,000 sheets and 500,000 characters per day, the Company has developed an entire life-cycle data management and governance system, and realised value-oriented operation of internal and external tenant data models.

  • Strengthening security capability: Through building a proprietary, safe and controllable big data security system, the Company has been equipped with security management and control capability covering the entire life cycle of data, thereby protecting national data and user privacy.

  • Building basic AI capabilities: Breakthroughs were made in computer vision capabilities for faces, license plates and objects through self-developed AI application innovation platform. As at the end of 2019, we provided more than 20 proprietary capabilities such as face recognition and image recognition/search.

  • Enriching product capabilities: The Company’s products vertically cover finance, public security, population, regulation and other industries and fields, and horizontally constitute a multi-tier product system, serving over 600 tourist attractions, and over 200 government organisations, financial institutions and Internet companies.

The Company initiated the construction of a data middle platform and launched a data security platform internally to enable data interoperability among various scenarios, and expanded data sharing and accessibility to build a data middle platform ecosystem within the Group while ensuring data security. Meanwhile, it started to develop data quality system, with audit ratios for 31 provinces’ online logs remaining below 120%. The establishment of customer insight system, customer scenario perception system and centralised operation system for existing customers has empowered the Company’s marketing efforts and operational decision-making.

Enhancing the value of IoT

Centered on the basic platform, China Unicom’s IoT business aggregated upstream and downstream partners in the value chain for collaborative innovation through connectivity services, application services, component services and solution integration services and contributed to the digital transformation of cities. It strives to become a value enabler in the era of IoT and enable people to enjoy smart life. China Unicom ranked 4th among the world’s top 500 IoT enterprises in 2019.

Strengthening platform development

  • Improving capability of connectivity management platform: The carrying capacity and various capabilities of the cellular connectivity platform were optimised in a continuous manner, with an average of 2.2 billion API calls per month.

  • Building capabilities of equipment management platform: The Company developed capabilities of equipment management platforms for industrial sector, public utilities, safety and others. Currently, the equipment management platforms serve more than 1,000 customers.

  • Advancing application enablement: The Company kept enhancing customer-oriented platform capabilities such as real-name registration system and 2C ordering. Meanwhile, riding on the general demand of the industry and the development of innovative technology, it has built up the vision intelligence (VI) capability.

  • Deepening proprietary platform research system: Having received the CMMI3 certification, the Company’s software sophistication has reached a new level. Thanks to its stronger internal research team, the Company undertook all platform upgrades on its own in 2019.

Accelerating AI Innovation and Empowerment

China Unicom takes artificial intelligence (AI) as an important strategic tool to enhance technological competitiveness and gives full play to the steering role of AI.

  • Self-developed the China Unicom Network AI Experimental Platform and completed the certification of the ITU intelligent network grading standard. China Unicom led the formation of the first ITU-T smart education standard based on next-generation AI technology, and released the ITU-T intelligent network grading standard.

  • Provided support for implementation of more than 10 intelligent applications and related solution design, such as analysis and application of smart work orders and inspection of equipment rooms by smart robots. An AI-based intelligent platform for IPRAN network featuring alarm, analysis and positioning has been put into application, boosting the efficiency by over 85%.

  • Hosted various AI competitions and online AI forums.

技术

发展前瞻技术

中国联通积极发挥创新主体作用,加速推动信息领域核心技术突破,以自主创新力量为建设网络强国添砖加瓦。

推动5G 技术演进

中国联通积极响应国家5G战略,投入5G技术研发和实验,牵头完成了多项基于5G标准的规范和项目,极大地推进了5G发展进程,国内率先完成非独立组网(NSA)试验,在11个试点城市启动独立组网(SA)新型组网试验。完成5G承载内外场测试,推动不同厂家5G承载设备解耦。

打造云业务引领

中国联通聚焦云业务引领,打造云网一体、安全可信、多云协同、服务定制的云业务整体发展策略。以云业务作为基础和承载,提升天宫、慧企平台全栈的组件能力,整合智能网络、物联网、大数据、产业互联网应用等各类产品,构建一体化新融合产品体系,提供垂直行业整体解决方案。2019年云平台资源总量为26.7万虚拟处理器(vCPU),876.2T内存,存储能力达到26.4PB,集约化资源池云化率提升至62.3%。

丰富云产品及服务

  • 公有云方面,不断丰富「沃云」产品供给能力,联合合作伙伴以统一的「沃云」品牌面向客户提供一体化的云计算服务。目前已上线「沃云」合作公有云基础及应用产品250余款,沃云云市场应用产品45款,沃云公有云平台上线功能116项。

  • 私有云方面,不断打造安全可信的云平台和云产品,包含四大类312个功能点数,核心技术实现完全自主可控研发,现已取得超百项软件著作权证书。

  • 行业云方面,面向重点行业领域不断探索与实践,利用沃云在云网一体、多云管理等方面的独特优势,为客户提供专业化优质的行业云解决方案和产品。

  • 云网融合方面,积极推进智能化网络建设部署,建设云网一体的新网络。

  • 云集成服务方面,依托属地化运营服务团队,加强集成自主实施能力建设,提升云集成、云迁移、云安全等专业化运营服务能力,向客户提供包括上云规划咨询、方案设计、集成实施、上云迁移、安全防御等一体化的服务。

  • 云平台应用方面,天宫、慧企平台应用于广东、四川、山东、北京、江苏、河南等省,支持计算、交易和大数据等应用效果较好。

强化大数据能力

中国联通积极打造大数据基础能力,落实国家大数据战略,实施「大数据能力提升计划」。构建自主研发为主、开放共享、安全可控、行业领先的大数据能力体系,致力于成为用户信赖的数据智能服务运营专家,争当数字中国建设主力军。

  • 夯实自主研发能力, 提升自主建模能力,具备PB级技术数据加工及千亿级数据规模的实时分析与模型服务能力,形成涵盖金融、教育等10个行业的行业模型矩阵。

  • 强化数据资产整合能力, 每天处理超过180T的增量数据,1.6万张表,50万个字段;构建了全生命周期数据管控治理体系,实现了内外部租户数据模型价值化运营。

  • 提升安全能力, 打造自主安全可控的大数据安全防护体系,形成覆盖数据全生命周期的安全管控能力,保护国家数据和用户隐私。

  • 构建AI基础能力, 通过自主研发AI应用创新平台,取得人脸、车牌、物体等计算机视觉能力的突破。2019年底输出人脸识别、图像识别╱检索等20多项自主能力。

  • 丰富产品能力, 纵向覆盖金融、公共安全、人口、监管等多个行业领域,横向建立多层次产品体系。产品服务全国600个以上旅游景区,超过200家政府组织机构、金融业和互联网公司。

公司内部启动数据中台建设并上线数据安全平台,实现各场景数据互通,在确保数据安全的前提下加大数据开放共享力度,构建全集团数据中台生态。启动数据质量系统建设,31省上网日志稽核比率持续低于120%;通过建设客户洞察系统、客户情景感知系统、集约化存量经营体系,全面赋能市场营销和经营决策。

提升物联网价值

中国联通物联网服务以基础平台为核心,以连接服务、应用服务、部件服务、方案集成服务为载体,聚合产业链上下游伙伴协同创新,助力城市数字化转型,力争成为万物智联时代的价值使能者,让百姓享受智慧生活。中国联通在2019年世界物联网500强企业中排行第4名。

强化平台建设

  • 完善连接管理平台能力:持续优化提升蜂窝连接平台承载量和各项能力,平台API调用数月度已达22亿次。

  • 打造设备管理平台能力:完成工业、公共事业、安全等设备管理平台能力建设支撑。目前,设备管理平台累计承载客户超过1千家。

  • 推进应用使能建设:不断迭代增强实名制、2C订购等面向客户平台能力;结合行业通用需求及创新技术发展,已完成机器视觉(VI)能力建设。

  • 深化平台自研体系:通过CMMI3级认证,软件成熟度跨入新台阶。不断增强自研团队能力,实现2019年平台迭代全部自研。

加速人工智能创新赋能

中国联通将人工智能作为提升科技竞争力的重要战略抓手,发挥好人工智能的「头雁」效应。

  • 自主研发中国联通网络AI实验平台,完成ITU网络智能化分级标准验证。牵头立项ITU-T第一个基于新一代人工智能技术的智慧教育标准,完成ITU-T网络智能化分级标准发布。

  • 支撑完成智慧工单分析应用、智慧机器人机房巡检等10余项智能化应用落地和方案编制。基于AI的IPRAN网络告警智能分析定位平台得到应用,效率提升85%以上。

  • 承办人工智能大赛和网络AI论坛。